Committee on Road Safety discusses Road Safety Measures- Appreciates Efforts of Chandigarh Administration in Reducing Fatalities

Chandigarh, 7th November, 2019: A meeting of the Supreme Court Committee on Road Safety was held under the Chairmanship of Justice K.S. Radhakrishnan (Retd.) to discuss the additional directions of the said Committee pertaining to Road Safety in Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi.   

During the meeting, various measures of Road Safety issues were discussed. The Committee observed that  Chandigarh Administration is working on sensitizing people about Road Safety measures besides promulgating steps to reduce the fatalities in road crashes. The committee observed that fatalities in the road accidents have seen reduction by 21 percent as compared to last year.The table showing the target and actual achieved target in respect of road fatalities are as under:

Year Target for Calendar Year(s) Actual Achieved
2016 151
2017 125 107
2018 99 98
2019 85 67  (upto 03.11.2019)
2020 75

The Committee appreciated and desired that Chandigarh Administration may keep working on it and set the goal at zero. The Chief Engineer,  briefed that for the Non-Motorized vehicles, the 200 K.M.(approx) Cycle Track has been created in the city which is maximum in the country. Pelican lights and road safety symbols are installed in the Tracks for the safety of cyclist. The fatalities of Non-Motorized vehicles has also been reduced from 12 to 5. 

The Secretary Transport briefed that the Chandigarh Traffic Police in association with the State Council of Education, Research and Training (SCERT), UT Chandigarh has developed Road Safety Books for primary, middle and senior levels for school children. The Committee lauded the efforts made by the Chandigarh Administration in reducing the road fatalities as well as construction of cycle tracks and was of the view that Chandigarh will act as a model city for other cities to follow.

The meeting was attended by Dr. Ajay K. Singla, IAS (Secretary Transport), Sh. Uma Shankar Gupta, PCS (Additional Secretary Transport), Sh. Mukesh Anand, Chief Engineer, U.T. and Sh. Jaswinder Singh, DSP (Traffic), U.T.