Haryana’s State-Level Function on National Voters Day: Electoral Literacy for Strong Democracy on January 25 in Panchkula

Chandigarh/ January 20 –   As per the directions of the Election Commission of India, Haryana Government will organize a State-Level program on January 25, 2020, in Panchkula to mark the celebrations of Commission’s Foundation Day as National Voters’ Day. Haryana Governor Mr. Satyadeo Narain Arya will be the Chief Guest of the occasion.

Giving details in this regard, Haryana Chief Electoral Officer Mr. Anurag Agrawal said that the theme of the State-Level function is ‘Electoral Literacy for Strong Democracy’.

Mr. Anurag Agarwal appealed to all the citizens of the states to participate in this National Voters’ Day programs at the State Level, District Level, or at the Polling Station Level. He added that participation will help to make the program successful and of national interest. He asked the people to support the event.

He informed that this time officers and employees who have done excellent work in Lok Sabha General Election and Haryana Assembly General Election – 2019 will also be honored.

He further said that the foundation day of the Commission i.e. January 25, 1950, was declared as’ National Voters’ Day ‘ and is celebrated on 25 January every year at the Polling Station Level, Assembly Level, Constituency Level, District Level, State Level, and National Level.

The Chief Electoral Officer informed that considering January 1, 2020, as the qualifying date, a summary revision of electoral voter lists is going to start from February 10, 2020. Under this revision, people can register names in the voter list, correct the error in the voter card and the voter list, as well as the removal of names, will also be undertaken.

He has appealed to the citizens of the State that eligible citizens must register themselves in the voter list during this campaign.

Apart from this, citizens can check their details in the voter list which will be available in the offices of the concerned Registration Officer, or District Election Officer on any working day. The list will also be available on the Department’s website www.ceoharyana.gov.in.