Schedule for bye-elections to fill a casual vacancy in the Parliamentary Constituency & State Legislative Assemblies of various States/UTs– Regarding.

New Delhi/ PIB News: There is one clear vacancy in the 23-Samastipur (SC) Parliamentary Constituency of Bihar & Sixty-Four vacancies in State Legislative Assemblies of various States/ UTs which needs to be filled up are as follows: Sl. No. State Number & Name of Parliamentary Constituency 1. Bihar 23- Samastipur (SC) Sl.No. Name of State Number and Name of Assembly Constituency 1. Arunachal Pradesh 56-Khonsa (West)(ST) 2. Assam 1-Ratabari (SC) 3. Assam 44-Jania 4. Assam 74-Rangapara 5. Assam 106-Sonari 6. Bihar 54-Kishanganj 7. Bihar 76-Simri Bakhtiarpur 8. Bihar 109-Daraunda 9. Bihar 158-Nathnagar 10. Bihar 163-Belhar 11. Chhattisgarh 87-Chitrakot (ST) 12. Gujarat 8-Tharad 13. Gujarat 20-Kheralu 14. Gujarat 50-Amraiwadi 15. Gujarat 122-Lunawada 16. Himachal Pradesh 18-Dharamshala 17. Himachal Pradesh 55-Pachhad (SC) 18. Karnataka 03- Athani 19. Karnataka 04-Kagwad 20. Karnataka 09- Gokak 21. Karnataka 81-Yellapur 22. Karnataka 86- Hirekerur 23. Karnataka 87-Ranibennur 24. Karnataka 90-Vijayanagara 25. Karnataka 141- Chikkaballapur 26. Karnataka 151- K.R. Pura 27. Karnataka 153-Yeshvanthapura 28. Karnataka 156-Mahalakshmi Layout 29. Karnataka 162-Shivajinagar 30. Karnataka 178-Hosakote 31. Karnataka 192-Krishnarajpet 32. Karnataka 212-Hunsur 33. Kerala 01-Manjeshwar 34. Kerala 82-Ernakulam 35. Kerala 102-Aroor 36. Kerala 114-Konni 37. Kerala 133- Vattiyoorkavu 38. Madhya Pradesh 193 – Jhabua (ST) 39. Meghalaya 26-Shella (ST) 40. Odisha 2- Bijepur 41. Pudducherry 10 – Kamraj Nagar 42. Punjab 29-Phagwara (SC) 43. Punjab 39-Mukerian 44. Punjab 68 – Dakha 45. Punjab 79 – Jalalabad 46. Rajasthan 28-Mandawa 47. Rajasthan 110-Khinwsar 48. Sikkim 10 – Poklok-Kamrang 49. Sikkim 24 – Martam-Rumtek (BL) 50. Sikkim 27 – Gangtok (BL) 51. Tamil Nadu 75- Vikravandi 52. Tamil Nadu 227-Nanguneri 53. Telangana 89-Huzurnagar 54. Uttar Pradesh 7-Gangoh 55. Uttar Pradesh 37-Rampur 56. Uttar Pradesh 77-Iglas (SC) 57. Uttar Pradesh 175 –Lucknow Cantt. 58. Uttar Pradesh 212-Govindnagar 59. Uttar Pradesh 237-Manikpur 60. Uttar Pradesh 248-Pratapgarh 61. Uttar Pradesh 269-Zaidpur (SC) 62. Uttar Pradesh 280-Jalalpur 63. Uttar Pradesh 282-Balha (SC) 64. Uttar Pradesh 354-Ghosi After taking into consideration various factors like local festivals, electoral rolls, weather conditions, etc., the Commission has decided to hold bye-elections to fill these vacancies as per the program mentioned as under:

Poll Events Schedule Date of Issue of Gazette Notification 23.09.2019 (MONDAY) Last Date of Nominations 30.09.2019 (MONDAY) Date for Scrutiny of Nominations 01.10.2019 (TUESDAY) Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures 03.10.2019 (THURSDAY) Date of Poll 21.10.2019 (MONDAY) Date of Counting 24.10.2019 (THURSDAY) Date before which election shall be completed 27.10.2019 (SUNDAY) 2. ELECTORAL ROLL The Electoral Rolls for the aforesaid Parliamentary & Assembly Constituencies w.r.t 01.01.2019 as the qualifying date has been finally published.

3. ELECTRONIC VOTING MACHINES (EVMs) and VVPATs The Commission has decided to use EVMs and VVPATs in the bye-elections in all the polling stations. Adequate numbers of EVMs and VVPATs have been made available and all steps have been taken to ensure that the polls are conducted smoothly with the help of these machines.

4. IDENTIFICATION OF VOTERS In consonance with the past practice, the Commission has decided that the voter’s identification shall be mandatory in the aforementioned election at the time of poll’ Electoral Photo Identity cards (EPIC) shall be the main document of identification of a voter. However, in order to ensure that no voter is deprived of his/her franchise, if his/her name figures in the electoral rolls, separate instructions will be issued to allow additional documents for identification of voters at the time of poll in the said election.

5. MODEL CODE OF CONDUCT The Model code of conduct shall come into force with immediate effect in the district(s) in which the whole or any part of the Parliamentary & Assembly constituency going for election is included, subject to partial modification as issued vide Commission’ s instruction No. 437/6/1NST/2016-CCS, dated 29th June, 2017 (available on the commission’s website).

The Model code of conduct shall be applicable to all candidates, political parties and the State Government concerned. The Model code of conduct shall also be applicable to the Union Government for the district of the State concerned. All the instructions issued for General Elections to Legislative Assemblies of Haryana & Maharashtra shall also be applicable to the aforementioned Bye-elections.