Sports facilities in Seven more States and two Union Territories selected for up-gradation to Khelo India State Centre of Excellence

New Delhi, PIB News: The Sports Ministry has upgraded centers from a total of nine States and Union Territories to the Khelo India State Centre of Excellence (KISCE) under the Khelo India scheme. The States and UTs include Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Chandigarh, Goa, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Puducherry, Tripura, and Jammu & Kashmir.

Speaking about the decision, Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports Shri. KirenRijiju said, “The government is taking the two-pronged approach of developing grassroots level infrastructure on the one hand and creating facilities for sporting excellence on the other. The KISCEs will be world-class facilities where the best sporting talent from all over the country will be trained to further India’s Olympic dreams.”

These centers have made the cut based on their past performances, quality of infrastructure, management & sports culture in the State, etc. Earlier this year, the Ministry had identified a total of 14 centers to be upgraded to KISCEs. The overall number now stands at 24 KISCEs from 23 States / UTs. The assistance to these centers will be provided in the form of bridging the gaps in sports equipment, high-performance managers, coaches, sports scientists, technical support, etc.

The sports facilities were selected by each State and Union Territory, who was asked to identify the best sports infrastructure available with them or their agencies or any eligible agencies that could be developed into world-class sporting facilities.

The latest KISCEs include:

Andhra Pradesh – Dr. YSR Sports School, YSR District, Kadapa

Chandigarh – Hockey Stadium, Sector – 42

Chhattisgarh – Rajya Khel Prashikshan Kendra, Bilaspur

Goa – SAG Sports Complex, Campal, Panaji

Haryana –Motilal Nehru School of Sports, Rai, Sonipat

Himachal Pradesh – Indoor Stadium Luhnu Sports Complex, Bilaspur

Puducherry – Rajiv Gandhi School of Sports, Uppallam

Tripura – Dasarath Dev State Sports Complex, Badharghat, Agartala

Jammu & Kashmir –

i) M.A. Stadium, Fencing Academy, Jammu

ii) J & K Sports Council water Sports Academy, Srinagar

States/ UTs currently with KISCEs:

States – Assam, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Sikkim, Karnataka, Odisha, Kerala, Telengana, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Chandigarh, Goa, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Tripura

UTs – Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu, Puducherry, Jammu & Kashmir

Leave a Reply